top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMegan Ehrlich, PT, DPT

How to avoid pain flare ups from overdoing it

Updated: May 24, 2022

I work with a lot of busy adults and one common thing I hear is "I have so much to get done but if I don't do it, no one will, so I just have to push through and get it done even if I'm hurting"


Does this sound familiar?


I know I feel this way too so I can completely sympathize...but here's the thing...if you are constantly pushing yourself to the breaking point, eventually your body is going to tell you enough is enough and force you to take a break either from muscles being sore and tired, or really high pain levels.


So here is what I suggest...I call it the 2 Point Pain Scale Rule.


Regardless of what your pain level is, stop what you're doing (rest, change activities, take a break) if your pain increases 1-2 points on a 0-10 pain scale. When your pain goes back to your baseline level, you go back to doing what you were doing


Now, this is usually the point where people tell me "I can't do that" or "this won't work for me" but before you say that, I want to encourage you to give it a try. Not just one time, but making it a system that you give your body a slight break when it is telling you that it needs it. It really makes a difference, and when you stick to it, it works.


Why is this so important?

Because this is only allowing a 20% change in symptoms, regardless of what your starting point is which allows for shorter recovery/rest time, can help to avoid a big flare up, and helps YOU stay in control of your symptoms by being aware of when things are starting to feel worse.


The beauty of this system is YOU are in control. YOU decide when to take a break, what that break looks like, and how long it is. Choosing to take a break is a big difference that your body telling you you need it.


So, I challenge you to give this a try. I teach this to ALL of my patients and it is a huge driving principle in my Conquer Your Pain Membership because it truly works. If you want more tips like this that you can use right away, join the Conquer Your Pain Membership! You will get instant access to all of the membership resources!


Want more tips? Check out out our free facebook group!



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page