top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMegan Ehrlich, PT, DPT

Dollar in the Swear Jar...

Updated: Dec 6, 2021

If you’ve ever worked with me in any professional capacity, you know I HATE the term “no pain, no gain”


If you haven’t worked with me, I HATE THE TERM “ NO PAIN, NO GAIN”


Why do I hate it so much? Let me explain.


Initially when this term was used, it meant that you should feel some “pain” i.e (soreness, muscle burn fatigue, etc) with exercise. I’m fine with that. I agree that those are often signs of a good workout.


HOWEVER, this is not what people seem to mean when I hear them say “No pain, no gain”. I have heard countless people say “ no pain, no gain” when coming to PT in so much pain that they can barely walk, stand, bend, or lift anything without wincing in pain. . When I ask them to describe their pain, they tell me it’s really intense pain, sharp pain, and they are unable to exercise for days. They are NOT telling me that they are just a little sore after a good workout.


Where is the gain? I see that there was definitely pain, but where is the gain? Personally, I don't see the gain.



This does not mean that I don’t believe in working hard. I am for that. What I am encouraging, is really listen to your body when you say you're "in pain" and think about what it feels like and what that means. I teach my patients the 2 point pain scale rule. Rate your pain on a scale of 0-10. You can generally stay in a good range if you rest/scale back when your pain increases 1-2 points on a pain scale. Unfortunately, this is not something a lot of people follow. Most times, people work *too* hard and pay later and say “no pain, no gain” as if that’s how it should be. It’s NOT!


Listen to your body. It is trying to tell you something when you feel pains and changes. Don’t settle for “no pain, no gain”. A challenge is good. A challenge is healthy. It's all about listening to your body and understanding when you’re pushing your body past its limits.


If you need help figuring out that fine line between challenging and too much, click here to check out my FREE mini-course, Show Your Pain Who's Boss



Want to know when we release new content? Subscribe here!


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page